Iowa Federation of Republican Women Convention

DES MOINES (October 16, 2023) – Michelle Crawford of Eldridge was elected president of the Iowa Federation of Republican Women (IowaFRW) for the 2024-2025 biennium at the recent statewide convention in Des Moines. She will replace current president, Barbara Hames-Bryant, who has served two consecutive terms, on Jan. 1, 2024.

“We had an exceptional weekend in Des Moines that left us informed, inspired, and ready to rally Republican women across our great state leading up to Iowa caucuses,” says president-elect Crawford, who currently serves as IowaFRW 1st vice president and is a former Scott County Republican Women president.

“Accepting the nomination as IowaFRW president was not a decision taken lightly,” Crawford explains. “As a wife and mom of three boys, family means everything to me and time is precious. However, I know the work we do is critical.  That is why I am eager to step into this role alongside a stellar team to continue the work IowaFRW has successfully done for decades.”

In addition to Crawford, the following officers were elected: Amy Meskimen, 1st vice president; Denise Bubeck, 2nd vice president; Julie Ulrich, secretary; Jen Dumas, treasurer. The new officers will serve a term of two years beginning Jan. 1, 2024.

“It is a privilege to follow in the footsteps of so many incredible leaders who have gone before me, especially my mentor Barbara Hames-Bryant,” Crawford adds. “We are all grateful for the work she’s done to put IowaFRW in the position it is in today, and we’re just getting started.”

Hames-Bryant states that in the past 12 months, “Our 14 local clubs across the state have contributed 135,878 hours to Republican campaigns and conservative causes. That’s over four million dollars worth of volunteer time!”

“The IowaFRW Convention was a time for members around Iowa to gather and celebrate our successes the past two years,” adds Hames-Bryant, of Cedar Rapids. “Most importantly, the convention body unanimously affirmed that we are organization BY women, FOR women in the Biblical, biological meaning of the word.  As an inclusive group, all other registered Republicans are welcome as non-voting, associate members.”

IowaFRW also thanks the following officers and advisors for their expertise and countless volunteer hours on the Executive Committee for 2022-2023: Laura Carlson, 2nd vice president; Amy Meskimen, secretary; Tammy Pink, treasurer; and presidential advisors Gwen Ecklund and Kathy Pearson.

An impressive list of GOP dignitaries addressed the group including: U.S. Senator Joni Ernst; U.S. Representatives Ashley Hinson, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Zach Nunn; presidential candidate spouses Mrs. Ellie Binkley, Mrs. Casey DeSantis, Mrs. Susan Hutchinson; National Federation of Republican Women president-elect Julie Harris; Republican National Committeewoman Tamara Scott; and Iowa’s GOP Chairman Jeff Kaufmann.

The Iowa Federation of Republican, founded in Tama County in 1939, unites the voices and values within the Republican Party. The IowaFRW (, with local clubs and members throughout the state, proudly represents the party that made it possible for women to vote in the United States, and works to increase the effectiveness of women in the cause of good government. IowaFRW members volunteer more than 100,000 hours annually to fulfill our mission to elect Republican candidates, promote the principles of the Republican Party, educate the public, and inform the media. IowaFRW is a member organization of the National Federation of Republican Women, the largest grassroots Republican women’s organization in the country, founded in 1938.

Lori Leonard Reyman, Spokesperson