Republican Women Congratulate All GOP Primary Winners

“The Iowa Federation of Republican Women congratulates all Republicans who ran in the Primary election yesterday, especially our members who have worked hard to earn votes and promote Republican principles,” said Gloria Mazza, IowaFRW president.

Republican women on the ballot have increased 59 percent over 2016, according to the Carrie Chapman Catt Center at Iowa State University. “This is due in part to the role model effect,” Mazza explained. “We have Republican women representing Iowa in the United States Senate, and serving as our governor and speaker of the Iowa House. These are all firsts in Iowa and they are tremendous motivators for other Iowa Republican women seeking office.”

Ten IowaFRW members have their name on the mid-term ballot. “We congratulate our members Annette Sweeney and LeAnn Hughes who faced primaries and will now move forward with 21 other Republican women to the November election,” Mazza said. Sweeney is a Central Iowa cattlewoman who is currently the Iowa Senator from District 25. Hughes, a Western Iowa tree business owner and first-time candidate, won the Iowa House District 15 Primary.

Mazza also applauded these eight IowaFRW members who are on the ballot, but uncontested in Primary races: Gov. Kim Reynolds; Auditor Mary Mosiman; Chris Cournoyer (Senate District 49); Anna Bergman (House District 44); Speaker Linda Upmeyer (House District 54); Rep. Sandy Salmon (House District 63); Teresa Daubitz (House District 66); and Rep. Ashley Hinson (House District 67).

In the five-way Republican Primary for Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, the unofficial tally shows no candidate reached the 35 percent threshold, but given the tight margin, Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate has called for a statewide county canvass. If no one reaches 35 percent, the contest will be decided by delegates to the State GOP Convention on June 16. Candidates are: Ray Gaesser; Chad Ingels; Craig Lang; Mike Naig; and Dan Zumbach.

The Iowa Federation of Republican Women (, founded in 1939 in Tama County, is the premier organization for uniting the voices and values within the Republican Party. The IowaFRW is part of the National Federation of Republican Women (, the largest and most influential women’s political organization in the nation, proudly representing the party that first made it possible for women to vote in the U.S. and working to increase the effectiveness and relevance of women in the cause of good government.