IowaFRW Members Named as Dignitaries for Branstad-Reynolds Inaugural Events

by Lori Leonard, IowaFRW Public Relations Chair

Iowa Federation of Republican Women members chosen Honorary Colonels or named to Branstad-Reynolds Inaugural Committee

IowaFRW congratulates Governor Terry Branstad on historic sixth term

JANUARY 13, 2015 – The Iowa Federation of Republican Women (IowaFRW) will be well-represented at the Inauguration of Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds on Friday, Jan. 16, in Des Moines as 11 IowaFRW members have been chosen to serve on the Inaugural Committee or to be commissioned as Honorary Iowa Colonels of the Militia.

The IowaFRW members who will serve as Honorary Colonels are: Judy Davidson, Bettendorf; The Honorable Sandy Greiner, Washington; Norma Hames, Marion; Shelley Laracuente, Ankeny; Marki McKibben, Marshalltown; Charise Schwarm, Lake Mills; and Joni Scotter, Marion. IowaFRW members named to the Inaugural Committee are: Gwen Ecklund, Denison; Kathy Pearson, Cedar Rapids; IowaFRW President Kim Reem, Marion; and Sherrill Whisenand, Des Moines. (See below for complete list.) The Commissioning Ceremony for the Iowa Colonels of the Militia will be held at 8 a.m. on Friday, Jan. 16; the Inauguration follows at 9 a.m.; and the Inaugural Ball is at 7 p.m. The events take place at the Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center in downtown Des Moines.

“The Iowa Federation heartily congratulates the governor and lieutenant governor on their re-election and on Governor Branstad’s unprecedented sixth term,” said Reem. “IowaFRW members from across the state worked hard on each of Governor Branstad’s elections over the years and we are so honored to be included on the slate of honorary colonels and inaugural committee members for this historic occasion.”

“These men and women have placed their service to Iowa above themselves and we are proud to recognize their generosity to our state,” said Gov. Branstad. “Members of the Iowa Colonels of the Militia are highly respected in their community, and represent the strong, selfless character of our state. It is a commission without command, but it represents Iowa’s heritage of service that will continue to be a vibrant fabric of our culture into the future.”

“The Inaugural Committee consists of a group of men and women who have been instrumental in building Iowa’s future,” said Lt. Gov. Reynolds. “We are thankful for their dedication to this brighter future and look forward to celebrating our vision for Iowa during the Inaugural festivities.”

Honorary Colonels:
Kathy Anderson, Johnston
Mary Andringa, Pella
Jeff Boeyink, Ankeny
Congressman Leonard Boswell, Davis City
Keith and Trudy Caviness, Ottumwa
Kurt Croell, Lawler
Judy Davidson, Bettendorf
Mayor Paula Dierenfeld, Johnston
Robert Engberg, Burlington
Gene Enke, Fort Madison
Brigadier General (Ret) Martin Graeber, Fort Madison
The Honorable Sandy Greiner, Washington
Curt and Norma Hames, Marion
Cody Hoefert, Rock Rapids
Leo and Margaret Hough, Urbandale
Dr. Scott Ihrke, Le Mars
Chairman Jeff Kaufmann, Wilton
Gary Kirke, West Des Moines
Kyle Krause, Waukee
Jose and Shelley Laracuente, Ankeny
Chuck Sr. and Ellen Larson, Des Moines
Larry and Marki McKibben, Marshalltown
Rose Mitchell, West Des Moines
Mayor Brad Randolph, Fort Madison
Bruce Rastetter, Alden
Dr. Michael Richards, West Des Moines
David Roederer, Johnston
Ying Sa, Des Moines
Richard and Charise Schwarm, Lake Mills
Joni Scotter, Marion
John Smith, Cedar Rapids
Charles Strawn, St. Charles
Cameron Sutton, Grimes
Jim Tyler, Atlantic
Kirk Tyler, Waukee
Sam Wallace, Des Moines
Daniel Wiedemeir, Burlington
Randy Winegard, Burlington
Alan Zuckert, Des Moines

Inaugural Committee:
Jim Cownie (Co-Chair), Des Moines
Bill Knapp (Co-Chair), Van Meter
Chelle Adkins, Cedar Falls
Joshua Asner, Iowa City
The Honorable Dennis Black, Des Moines
Andy Cable, Eldora
Philip Condo, West Des Moines
Mike Cook, West Des Moines
Tom Cope, Johnston
Tyler DeHaan, Urbandale
Gwen Ecklund, Denison
Ryan Frederick, Orient
Matt Giese, Dubuque
Dr. Tom Gleason, Boone
John Gleeson, Sioux City
David Greenspon, West Des Moines
Steve and Christine Hensley, Des Moines
Ron Herrig, Dubuque
Austin Jacobs, Indianola
Jim Kersten, Fort Dodge
Mary Ellen Kimball, Osceola
David Kochel, Des Moines
Chuck Larson Jr., Des Moines
Mark Lundberg, Orange City
Jack Maples, Newton
Luke Martz, Pella
Jon McAvoy, Adel
Robert Myers, Pleasant Hill
Gary and Kathy Nystrom, Boone
Kathy Pearson, Cedar Rapids
Katie Popkes, Ames
Marlys Popma, Brooklyn
Kim Reem, Marion
Steve Roberts, Des Moines
Will Rogers, Des Moines
Jan and Lyle Simpson, Des Moines
Doug and Bonnie Smalley, Clive
John and Christine Stineman, West Des Moines
Michael St. Clair, Ankeny
Christie Teague, Cedar Falls
Jon Troen, West Des Moines
Mary E. Whisenand, Des Moines
Sherill Whisenand, Des Moines
Craig Williams, Manning

The Iowa Federation of Republican Women ( celebrated its 75th Diamond Anniversary in 2014. As part of the National Federation of Republican Women (, the IowaFRW works as a team to elect Republicans at all levels of government. The 2014-2015 IFRW biennium officers are: Kim Reem, president; Peggy Dandy, first vice president; Melissa Gesing, second vice president; Nancy Olson, secretary; Cheryl Weisheit, treasurer.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field

Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed